Floriade – annually in September

The Australian Capital Territory (A.C.T) lies in the valley of the Molonglo River, some 2400 square kilometres of land.The site was a meeting place (Canberry) for the Ngunnawal and Ngario people who hunted and lived in the area from Autumn to Spring.

Plans for the city of Canberra began in 1912. It had been a sheep farm until then which is why there are some older buildings in the region, such as Government House – Yarralumla – which was built in the 1820’s, The Lodge (Prime Ministers Residence) (1926) and the Australian War Memorial (1941)

warmemorial2parliament house

Lake Burley Griffin was created in 1965 and it was then that the building began with the National Library in 1968, High Court (1980), National Gallery (1982), The Mint (1965) and the new Parliament House in 1988.

The A.C.T. prides itself on being able to present a taste of every part of Australia.

The Territory experiences all the seasons and revels in taking full advantage of that aspect.